There may be plenty of reasons why you want to delete your Twitter account. Not only Twitter, but many users seem to be getting tired of all social network platforms, including Instagram and Facebook as well. If you have taken the decision that you are no longer going to share minute by minute details about your life on Twitter, then you may be looking at how to delete your Twitter account. Don’t worry, there is a temporary solution for this if you only want to take a break. However, if you are made of sterner stuff and want to get off the platform permanently, we can help you with that as well. Check it out.
Options include deactivating account which works for 30 days. If you choose to go ahead with this, you will notice that your profile, tweets, replies, and everything else will be hidden. When you decide to come back or the 30-day period ends, your activity will be fully restored. You can also decide to delete your Twitter account permanently. This means that all your activity, including your profile, tweets, followers, and uploads will disappear, to never come back again. While the first solution is reversible, the latter cannot be reactivated.
Another thing you should note is that if you choose to delete your account today and later on, wish to re-register on Twitter, you may not be able to get the same username. This is because another user or account could have taken it when it became available. Are you sure you still want to delete your account? Alright, here you go!
How To Deactivate Twitter Account on Desktop
Twitter accounts can be deactivated on Desktop, Android, or iOS platforms. To do so from your desktop, sign in to your Twitter account.
- Click on the drop-down menu under your profile icon. Choose the Settings and Privacy option.
- Within the menu, you will see the Accounts section. Inside that, select ‘Deactivate’.
- You will be asked to enter your password and click on Deactivate account.
- You are done!
How To Deactivate Twitter Account on Android
Regardless of the brand of phone, you are using, you can easily deactivate your Twitter account.
- Click on your profile icon or on the menu icon located at the top of the screen.
- Make your way to the Settings and Privacy menu.
- Click on Account.
- Choose ‘Deactivate your account.’
- Enter your password and confirm that you want to deactivate.
The procedure for deactivating Twitter account on iOS is also pretty much the same.
How To Delete Twitter Account
The above procedure will help you deactivate your Twitter account. You can always reactivate your profile within 30 days. All you need to do is to log in again. However, if you don’t, Twitter will remove all your data from its platform. Your account will now be deleted forever. This process is irreversible. Do note that deactivation is only useful when you no longer want to use the platform. It will not solve any issue that your account currently has.